InCommon is operated by Internet2


About            Participants            Join InCommon


Join InCommon

InCommon Participants

InCommon Email Lists

Internet2 Industry Program - Trust and Identity Solution Providers

InCommon Basics

InCommon Policies and Practices

Changing the InCommon Exec, Site Admin, RAO

IAM Online Webinar Series

About InCommon

Contact InCommon

About InCommon

The mission of InCommon is to create and support a common trust framework for U.S. education and research. This includes trustworthy shared management of access to on-line resources in support of education and research in the United States. To achieve its mission, InCommon will facilitate development of a community-based common trust fabric sufficient to enable participants to make appropriate decisions about the release of identity information and the control of access to protected online resources. InCommon is intended to enable production-level end-user access to a wide variety of protected resources.

InCommon Governance

InCommon Steering Committee

The InCommon Steering Committee is responsible for managing the business and affairs of InCommon, including oversight and recommendations on issues arising from the operation and management of InCommon. Policies and practices approved by the Steering Committee are available on the Policies page. We also have a list of current and past Steering members.

Steering Members


Term Ends
December Of:

Klara Jelinkova, Rice University (Chair) 2013 2015
Mark Crase, California State University System (Treasurer) 2010 2015
Dennis Cromwell, Indiana University 2014 2016
Michael Gettes, Penn State (Asst. Secy.) 2013 2015
Chris Holmes, Baylor University 2010 2015
Susan Kelley, Yale University 2014 2016
Ken Klingenstein, Internet2 (ex officio) 2004 ---
Michele Norin, University of Arizona 2015 2017
John O'Keefe, Lafayette College 2010 2015
Sean Reynolds, Northwestern University 2015 2017
Pankaj Shah, OARnet 2015 2017
Dave Vernon, Cornell University 2014 2016
Melissa Woo, University of Oregon 2014 2016
Ann West, Associate Vice President, Trust and Identity, Internet2    
Steve Carmody, Brown University and Chair, InCommon Technical Advisory Committee    
Jacob Farmer, Indiana University, InCommon Assurance Advisory Committee    
Von Welch, Indiana University Center for Applied Cybersecurity Research, representing research community    

InCommon Technical Advisory Committee

The InCommon Technical Advisory Committee provides recommendations relating to the operation and management of InCommon with respect to technical issues. See the TAC charter for more information.

Steven Carmody, Brown University – Chair
Tom Barton, University of Chicago
Jim Basney, University of Illinois
Scott Cantor, The Ohio State University
Michael Gettes, The Pennsylvania State University
Keith Hazelton, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Jim Jokl, University of Virginia
Ken Klingenstein, InCommon Steering Committee
Mike LaHaye, Internet2
Chris Misra, University of Massachusetts - Amherst
David Walker, Independent
Ian Young, U.K. Access Management Federation

In Memoriam - RL "Bob" Morgan, University of Washington - The InCommon community wishes to express special acknowledgement to the life and work of RL "Bob" Morgan from the University of Washington, a leader of TAC until July 12, 2012, who gave so much of himself to creating the standards, policy and technology behind the InCommon Federation and charting our course for the future of identity in higher education. It was an honor to have him among us. He left us far too soon.

InCommon Assurance Advisory Committee

The Assurance Advisory Committee (AAC) is the oversight body of the InCommon Identity Assurance Program and advisory to the InCommon Steering Committee.

Jacob Farmer, chair, Indiana University (member at large) - Chair
Chris Spadanuda, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (IdP) - Vice Chair
Warren Anderson, LIGO (SP)
Trisha Craig, Duke University (auditor)
David Crotts, Virginia Tech (auditor)
Steve Devoti, University of Wisconsin-Madison (IdP)
Doug Falk, National Student Clearinghouse (SP)
Chris Holmes, Baylor University (InCommon Steering)
Paul Caskey, InCommon/Internet2 (InCommon staff)

Subject Matter Experts (non-voting)
Debbie Bucci, National Institutes of Health/General Services Admin (member at large)

Ex-Officio (non-voting)
Tom Barton, University of Chicago (InCommon TAC)
Klara Jelinkova, Rice University (InCommon Steering


InCommon is operated by Internet2 staff, who are responsible for the business, policy implementation, technical operations, identity verification, and support of InCommon and its federation participants.

Copyright 2004-2015 InCommon LLC. All rights reserved. InCommon is operated by Internet2.